Ghana Must Go av Taiye Selasi - LitteraturMagazinet

 Glansholms Bokhandel & Antikvariat 

Söker du efter "Ghana Must Go" av Taiye Selasi? Du kan sluta leta. Våra experter i antikvariat hjälper dig eftersöka boken - utan extra kostnad - och den levereras direkt hem i brevlådan.

 Information från förlaget 
Engelsk utgåva

Ghana Must Go

Av Taiye Selasi

Bok-
presentation:
Ghana Must Go
Författar-
presentation:
Taiye Selasi

A stunning novel, spanning generations and continents, "Ghana Must Go" by rising star Taiye Selasi is a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. This is the story of a family - of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the long, troubled journeys that they make to bring themselves together again. It is the story of a family who take generations to make a good life for themselves only to see it crumble in an evening; a Ghanaian father, Kwaku, who becomes a highly respected surgeon in the USA only to be disillusioned by a grotesque injustice; his Nigerian wife, Fola, who builds their family with him only to be abandoned in his wake; their eldest son, Olu, determined in the years that follow to reconstruct the life his father should have had; their twins, star-student Taiwo and acclaimed artist Kehinde, both brilliant but scarred and flailing; their youngest, Sadie, jealously in love with her beautiful college friend, suffocating under her stricken mother's love. All of them sent reeling on their disparate paths into the world. But it is also the story of a family who make that journey back to one another. A family reunited, initially, by grief. A family absolved, ultimately, by that bitter but most tenuous bond, family love. "Ghana Must Go" interweaves the many stories of their lives in a rich and moving drama of separation and reunion, spanning generations and cultures from West Africa to New England, London, New York and back again. It is a debut novel of blazing originality and startling power by a writer of remarkable gifts. ""Ghana Must Go" is both a fast moving story of one family's fortunes and an ecstatic exploration of the inner lives of its members. With her perfectly-pitched prose and flawless technique, Selasi does more than merely renew our sense of the African novel: she renews our sense of the novel, period. An astonishing debut". (Teju Cole, author of, "Open City"). Taiye Selasi was born in London and raised in Massachusetts. She holds a B.A. in American Studies from Yale and an M.Phil. in International Relations from Oxford. "The Sex Lives of African Girls" ("Granta", 2011), Selasi's fiction debut, appears in Best American Short Stories 2012. She lives in Rome.

Utgåvor

Häftad
Förlag: Penguin Books Ltd.

Tells the story of a family who take generations to make a good life for themselves only to see it crumble in an evening. This title tells the story of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the long, troubled journeys that they make to bring themselves together again

Utgivningsdatum: 20130328
9780670919871

Pocket
Förlag: Penguin Books Ltd.
Lagerstatus: Definitivt slut

A family prospering until the day father and surgeon Kweku Sai is victim of a grave injustice. Ashamed, he abandons his beautiful wife Fola and their little boys and girls, causing the family to fracture and spiral out into the world - New York, London, New England - on uncertain, troubled journeys until, many years later, tragedy unites them.

Meet the Sais, a Nigerian-Ghanaian family living in the United States. A family prospering until the day father and surgeon Kweku Sai is victim of a grave injustice. Ashamed, he abandons his beautiful wife Fola and their little boys and girls, causing the family to fracture and spiral out into the world - New York, London, West Africa, New England - on uncertain, troubled journeys until, many years later, tragedy unites them. Now this broken family has a chance to heal - but can the Sais take it?

Utgivningsdatum: 20140102
9780241968871

Bok: 215017

Anmäl textfel

Utgivning

Komma och gå

av Taiye Selasi
När den framstående kirurgen Kweku Sai avlider i en hjärtattack ...

Utgivning - andra språk

Ghana Must Go (eng)

av Taiye Selasi
Tells the story of a family who take generations to make a good l...

Sök bok/författare/artikel


Om LitteraturMagazinet

LitteraturMagazinet – Sveriges största litterära magasin är en redaktionell nättidskrift som hade premiär i januari 2012. Vi bevakar litteratur med författarintervjuer, recensioner, krönikor och debatt. Följ oss på Facebook, Twitter och prenumerera på vårt nyhetsbrev!
Läs mer om LitteraturMagazinet

Aktuella recensioner

Grafisk utgåva skänker nytt liv åt Anne Franks dagbok

Recension: Anne Franks dagbok av Ari Folman

En skärningspunkt mellan oändligheter

Recension: Det osynliga motstyckets bok av Göran Sonnevi

Krävande minimalist

Recension: de av Helle Helle

Välskrivet relationsdrama

Recension: Kom i min famn av Caroline Eriksson

Morris Mohlin träffar målet

Recension: Morris Mohlin är levande måltavla av Maria Frensborg

Liv och död i Lagos

Recension: Min syster, seriemördaren av Oyinkan Braithwaite

Bland pärlor och hajar

Recension: Pärlfiskaren av Karin Erlandsson

Häxeri mot patriarkat i stark debut

Recension: Vredens gudinnor av Katie Lowe

Spökhistoria på en stormig ö

Recension: Mysteriet på Ödeborgen av Kristina Ohlsson

Från Sargassohavet och tillbaka igen

Recension: Ålevangeliet : Berättelsen om världens mest gåtfulla fisk av Patrik Svensson
Glansholms Bokhandel & Antikvariat
Kundtjänst, vardagar 9-16: 070-692 50 50
LitteraturMagazinet
Redaktör: Sandra Sandström
Ansvarig utgivare: Linus Glansholm
Teknik: Framkant Media AB
Annonsera:  Framkant Media AB